Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page

NIDA Home > Newsroom > News Release    

10th Annual PRISM Awards Winners

For Release April 27, 2006

"Walk The Line," "Without A Trace," "Saturday Night Live," "Reba," "Guiding Light" & "ABC World News Tonight" Receive Prism Nods

Neal Baer Receives Larry Stewart Leadership & Inspiration Award

LOS ANGELES - The winners of the 10th Annual PRISM Awards were announced today at a gala dinner at the Beverly Hills Hotel. Presented by the Entertainment Industries Council, Inc. (EIC), in partnership with the National Institute on Drug Abuse, a component of the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services (NIDA) and the FX Network, the 10th Annual PRISM Awards recognize accurate depictions of drug, alcohol and tobacco use and addiction in television, feature film, video, music and comic book entertainment. Donny Deutsch, host of CNBC's "The Big Idea With Donny Deutsch," served as Master of Ceremonies. The 10th Annual PRISM Awards will air as a one-hour television special on the FX Network at a later date.

The evening was presided over by EIC's President & CEO, Brian Dyak; NIDA's Director, Dr. Nora Volkow; and Fox Broadcasting's Entertainment President, Peter Liguori, who serves as Chairman of the PRISM Awards Honorary Committee which is comprised of representatives from the networks, cable companies and studios.

PRISMs were awarded to Kelly Rowan in The O.C. for Performance in a Drama Episode, Georgia Engel in Everybody Loves Raymond for Performance in a Comedy Series; S. Epatha Merkerson in Lackawanna Blues for Performance in a TV Movie; and Lori Loughlin in Summerland for Performance in a Drama Multi-Episode Storyline.

Walk the Line, a feature from Fox 2000 Pictures, Tree Line Films and Catfish Productions, was singled out in the Feature Film Wide Release category. The other nominee in the category was Rent from Columbia Pictures and Revolution Studios.

The "Off the Tracks" episode from CBS' Without a Trace was honored in the TV Drama Episode category; Saturday Night Live won for TV Comedy Episode; several episodes of Reba were recognized in the TV Comedy Multi-Episode Storyline category. Behind the Camera: The Unauthorized Story of Mork and Mindy received the award for TV Movie or Mini Series; and The Montel Williams Show -"Drug Abuse: Rebuilding a Family" for TV Talk Show Episode.

The prestigious Larry Stewart Leadership & Inspiration Award went to Dr. Neal Baer, Executive Producer of the NBC television series Law & Order: Special Victims Unit. The award, which is presented for leadership and inspiration by example, is named in memory of veteran writer/producer/director Larry Stewart, a founding Board Director of EIC. The EIC President's Award for a very special entertainment industry achievement was presented to the A&E/GRB Entertainment series Intervention.

The following are remaining awards that were presented at the dinner: Feature Film Limited Release - Pure and Down To the Bone; Film Festival - Self-Medicated; Direct To Video - The Chuck Negron Story: Biography of an Entertainer; TV Drama Storyline - Jack and Bobby - Under The Influence/Stand By Me; TV Bio - The E! True Hollywood Story - Mary Tyler Moore; TV Documentary - 28 days in Rehab; TV Unscripted - Breaking Bonaduce - The Only Hope is Rehab/Rehab/Getting Better; TV Teen Non-Fiction Series Episode or Special - Focus on Lung Cancer; Music Recording - Brad Paisley: "Alcohol"; and Community Service - CBS Cares.

Celebrities taking part in the ceremony included Donny Deutsch (CNBC's "The Big Idea"), who served as Master of Ceremonies; Mariska Hargitay, "Law & Order: SVU"; Kathryn Morris, "Cold Case"; CCH Pounder, "The Shield"; Rene Auberjonois, "Boston Legal"; Gary Cole, "The West Wing"; Kelly Rowan, "The OC"; Melissa Rivers, TV Guide Channel; Gordon Clapp, "NYPD Blue"; Katey Sagal, "8 Simple Rules"; T'Keyah Crystal Keymah, "That's So Raven"; Dr. Drew Pinsky; Robert Patrick, "The Unit"; Benny Mardones; Mackenzie Rosman, "7th Heaven." Melody Thomas Scott, "The Young & The Restless"; Enrico Colantoni, "Veronica Mars"; Rockmond Dunbar, "Prison Break"; Lisa Vidal, "ER"; Christina Vidal, "Freaky Friday"; Tanya Vidal, "The Division"; Brenda Strong, "Desperate Housewives"; Camille Mana, "One on One"; Dave Coulier, "Skating with the Stars"; Julie Warner, "Family Law"; Chuck Negron, music artist; Jordan Clarke, "The Guiding Light"; Sam Phillips, "Xtreme Fakeovers"; Catherine Dent, "The Shield;" and Dee Wallace, "Sons and Daughters."

"During our first ten years, the industry has truly adopted the PRISM Awards as an important part of the magic of 'encouraging the art of making a difference,'" said EIC's Brian Dyak. "We're looking forward to many more years of continued growth and celebration of what our industry does on behalf of its audiences."

According to NIDA's Nora Volkow, "What films and TV shows do is help to put a face on the issue of substance abuse and addiction, helping the public to better understand how addiction affects the addict and how treatment can lead to hope."

EIC, a non-profit organization, was founded in 1983 by leaders of the entertainment industry to bring the power of the industry to bear on health and social issues. Among the issues EIC addresses are: drug, alcohol, and tobacco use and addiction; firearm safety and injury prevention; sun safety; human trafficking; terrorism and homeland security; mental health; and HIV/AIDS prevention. EIC's website is located at

The National Institute on Drug Abuse is a component of the National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NIDA supports most of the world's research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. The Institute carries out a large variety of programs to ensure the rapid dissemination of research information and its implementation in policy and practice. Fact sheets on the health effects of drugs of abuse and further information on NIDA research can be found on the NIDA web site at

FX is the flagship general entertainment basic cable network of the Fox Entertainment Group. Launched in June of 1994, FX is carried in more than 79 million homes. The diverse schedule includes a growing roster of distinctive original series and movies, an impressive roster of acquired hit series, an established film library with box-office hits from 20th Century Fox and other major studios, and marquee sports such as NASCAR.

NIDA News Release Logo

EIC logo

For more information about any item in this Release:

Get Adobe Reader

Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. . The U.S. government's official web portal