This is Archived Content

This content is available for historical purposes only. It may not reflect the current state of science or language from the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA). To view the latest NIDA Notes visit

Cite this article

NIDA. (2003, March 1). NIDA Welcomes New Advisory Council Members. Retrieved from

press ctrl+c to copy
March 01, 2003
Advisory Council Members - see text

The National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse meets three times yearly to evaluate grant applications, review recent research findings, and provide guidance for NIDA programs and policy. Pictured here with NIDA Acting Director Dr. Glen R. Hanson (far right) and Deputy Director Richard Millstein (far left) are new Council members Dr. Claire Sterk (left rear) of Emory University; Dr. Constance Weisner of the University of California, San Francisco; Dr. Peter Kalivas (front left) of the Medical University of South Carolina; and Dr. Rodolfo Arredondo of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Other members newly appointed to 3-year terms on the Council are Dr. Dorothy Hatsukami, University of Minnesota; Mrs. Peggy Sapp, Informed Families of Dade County, Inc.; Dr. David Vlahov, New York Academy of Medicine; and Robert Woodson, National Center for Neighborhood Enterprise.