Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page

National Institute on Drug Abuse

Director's Report to the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse

September, 1999

Staff Highlights

Honors and Awards

NIH Director's Award

Donna M. Jones, OPRM

Frank Vocci, Ph.D., MDD, (as part of a group entitled "Conference Planning Committee: Biomarkers and Surrogate Endpoints")

Jonathan D. Pollock, Ph.D., DBR, (as part of a group entitled "Trans-NIH Zebrafish Coordinating Committee")

Beverly Jackson, Jan Lipkin, Joan Nolan, Catherine Sasek, Ph.D., Jack Stein, LCSW, and Keith Van Wagner, OSPC, (as part of the NIDA Goes to School Working Group)

Other Honors and Awards

Dr. William J. Bukoski, DEPR, was the recipient of the Society for Prevention Research Public Service Award presented at the 1999 Annual Meeting of the Society held in New Orleans, June 24-26, 1999. The award was given in recognition of Dr. Bukoski's "leadership in supporting drug abuse prevention research in the Federal government."

Arthur MacNeill Horton, Jr., Ed.D., DCSR, has been elected to the office of Secretary in the newly formed Coalition of Clinical Neuropsychology Practitioners (CCNP).

Roy Pickens, Ph.D., IRP, was awarded the J. Michael Morrison Award at the 1999 Annual Meeting of the College on Problems of Drug Dependence in Acapulco, Mexico in recognition of his outstanding contributions in the area of scientific administration related to drug abuse. This award is given in memory of J. Michael Morrison, who was a well-liked and respected administrator at NIDA.

Staff Changes

Ann Anderson, M.D., M.P.H., formerly of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, joined the Clinical Trials Branch of the Medications Development Division as a Medical Officer, July 1999. Dr. Anderson received her M.D. degree from the University of Illinois and was in the private practice of family medicine for 12 years before obtaining an M.P.H. from the University of Washington. Dr. Anderson then joined the Centers for Disease Control, where she worked in the Epidemiology Intelligence Service and Fetal Alcohol Prevention Branch.

Janice Collins joined CAMCODA as a secretary on May 9, 1999.

Michel Desbois joined NIDA as Chief of OPRM's Information Resource Management Branch on July 4, 1999. Mr. Desbois has a degree in engineering and a masters in information systems. In addition to working as an engineer, he has experience in running a LAN, managing a helpdesk, and, most recently, developing and running large oracle-based data systems for the Department of Defense.

Juanita Johnson joined OSPC's Science Policy Branch as a Program Assistant on June 6, 1999. Ms. Johnson was formerly with the Department of Defense.

David Lisle, previously a Management Intern with NIH, joined OPRM's Contracts Management Branch on August 1, 1999 as a Contract Specialist.

Marilyn Thomas joined OEPR on May 23, 1999 as a Grants Technical Assistant in the Clinical, Epidemiological, and Applied Sciences Review Branch. Ms. Thomas comes to NIDA from the National Institute of Nursing Research.

Dr. Peter Delany, Deputy Chief, Services Research Branch, has accepted a detail as Acting Deputy Director of NIDA's Division of Clinical and Services Research.

Dr. Stephen Heishman, IRP, has been appointed Associate Director for Education and Training.

Dr. Alane S. Kimes, IRP, has been appointed Acting Chief, Neuroimaging Branch and Acting Director, Brain Imaging Center.

Dr. Robert Battjes retired July 31, 1999, after a long and distinguished career in the Public Health Service. He began his career in 1969 as a clinician and ward administrator at the Lexington, KY treatment facility and held a number of important positions during his 30 years in the Service, including Director of the Alcohol, Drug Abuse and Mental Health Division in the Kansas City Field Office. Dr. Battjes came to NIDA in 1977 and held senior positions in the Division of Prevention and Treatment Development, as Chief of the Prevention Research Branch, and as Associate Director for Planning of the Division of Clinical Research. He also held a detail to the Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense where he coordinated and edited the congressionally mandated report of the blue ribbon panel on health promotion. Most recently, Dr. Battjes held the position of Deputy Director of NIDA's Division of Clinical and Services Research.

Grantee Honors

Dr. E. Jane Costello of Duke University has been named to receive the Rema Lapouse Award at the 1999 meeting of the American Public Health Association. This award, from the sections on Mental Health, Epidemiology, and Biostatistics, recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of mental health epidemiology. Dr. Costello will be honored at the annual meeting of the APHA in November, in Chicago, where she will give a talk entitled "Public Health And Child Mental Health: Past, Present, And Future".

Dr. Dennis McCarty of Brandeis University was selected to join the editorial board for the Journal of Behavioral Services & Research.

Dr. Lester Luborsky, Professor Emeritus at the University of Pennsylvania, was awarded the Gold Medal Award for Lifetime Achievement in the applications of psychology, by the American Psychological Foundation. Dr. Luborsky is recognized as a pioneer and leading senior scientist in the field of psychodynamic psychotherapy for general mental disorders and for drug abusers.

Dr. Richard N. Zare of Stanford University was honored in 1998 by the Royal Society of Chemistry in the United Kingdom and also by the American Chemical Society. He was the 1999 recipient of the prestigious Welch Award in Chemistry for his lifetime achievements.

[Home Page][Office of the Director][Report Index][Previous Report Section]

Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. . The U.S. government's official web portal