Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page

NIDA Home > Publications > Director's Reports > September, 2010 Index    

Director's Report to the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse - September, 2010

Staff Highlights

Staff Honors and Awards

The Society for Prevention Research (SPR) presented its 2010 International Collaborative Prevention Research Award to NIDA International Program Director Dr. Steven W. Gust at its 18th Annual Meeting, which was held June 1-4, 2010, in Denver, Colorado. The award recognized Dr. Gust's contributions to advancing the field of prevention science globally during his decade of leading the International Program.

Dr. Cora Lee Wetherington, DBNRB and NIDA's Women & Sex/Gender Differences Research Coodinator, received the J. Michael Morrison Award presented by the College on Problems of Drug Dependence (CPDD) "to recognize her outstanding contributions in the area of scientific administration related to drugs of abuse." The award was presented June 13, 2010 at the plenary session of the College's seventy-second annual meeting held in Scottsdale, AZ.

Dr. Wilson M. Compton, DESPR, received the Paul Hoch Award from the American Psychopathological Association and presented on "Criminal Justice Settings: Intersecting Risks of Mental Health, Substance Abuse and High Risk Behaviors, New York, New York, March 4, 2010.

Drs. Lisa Onken and Cecelia Spitznas along with members of the NIDAMED development committee received an NIH Plain Language award for work on the NIDAMED website and provider training tools.

Dr. Redonna Chandler, DESPR, was awarded the 2010 NIH Plain Language and Clear Communication Award: NIDA Med electronic platform to facilitate screening and treatment of addiction in healthcare settings.

Dr. Redonna Chandler was awarded the 2010 NIH Plain Language and Clear Communication Award: YouTube Video on dangers of smoking.

Dr. Teri Levitin, Director, OEA, received an NIH Director's Group Award for her participation in the NIH volunteer program for teaching English to maintenance and other workers who want to improve their English proficiency.

Flair Lindsey, Program Analyst, Special Populations Office, was presented with an Exemplary Leadership award from the African American Researchers and Scholars Work Group on July 19, 2010 in Atlanta, GA for her leadership in the Special Populations Research Development Seminar Series and Summer Research with NIDA programs.

Dr. Richard Rothman, IRP, was listed as a co-inventor for U.S. Patent 7,728,001 'Opioid Receptor Ligands and Methods for Their Preparation' and is also a co-inventor on provisional patent application No, 61/169,586 entitled 'Phenylmorpholines and Analogues Thereof', filed April 15, 2009.

Dr. Amy Newman, IRP, received a NIDA Directors Award of Merit in June 2010 for her contributions as chair of the committee that created the new NIDA IRP webpage.

Dr. Ashwini Banala, IRP, was selected as a 2010 NIH FARE award winner and has been invited to present a poster at the NIH Research Festival in October.

NIDA Director's Awards

Division of Basic Neuroscience and Behavioral Research
Mark Caulder

PDP Medications Initiative for Tobacco Dependence (MITD) Task Force (NIDA-Wide)
Elena Koustova, Jane Acri, Kristopher Bough, Redonna Chandler, Udi Ghitza, Steve Heishman, Allison Hoffman, Kristen Huntley, Amrat Patel, Vishnudutt Purohit, Steven Sparenborg, Geetha Subramaniam

Division of Clinical Neuroscience & Behavioral Research
Woody Lin

Division of Epidemiology, Services and Prevention Research
Eve Reider

The NIDA-CSAP SPF-SIG Collaboration Team
Elizabeth Robertson, Augusto Diana, Jacqueline Lloyd

Intramural Research Program
Eliot Gardner

NIDA IRP Webpage Committee
Amy Newman, Mark Fleming, Andras Frenyo, Susan Harrelson, Aaron Martinek, Mary Pfeiffer, Brad Smoley, Elliot Stein

NIDA IRP Science for the Non-Scientist Seminar Program
Mary Pfeiffer , Kandi Culbertson

NIDA Office of the Director
American Indian and Alaska Native Coordinating Committee

Ana Anders, Lula Beatty, Nicolette Borek, Ananth Charya, Aria Crump, JC Comolli, Kathleen Etz, Joseph Frascella, Meena Hiremath, Dionne Jones, Cecelia McNamara-Spitznas, Carmen Rosa

Office of Extramural Affairs
Kristen Huntley

NIDA eContract Reiew Development Team
Minna Liang, Kristen Huntley, Nadine Rogers

Office of Management
James Quinn

Grants Management Branch
Azeezat Abu, Carol Alderson, Debra Battle-Dudley, Maryellen Connell, Edith Davis, Suzette Epps, Pamela Fleming, Diana Haikalis, Christine Kidd, Catherine Mills, Cheryl Nathaniel, Ericka Wells, Deborah Wertz, Heidi Young

Office of Science Policy and Communications
Ruben Baler

NIDA Representative on the ONDCP Inter-Agency Working Groups
Timothy Condon, Wilson Compton, Lucinda Miner, Redonna Chandler, Marsha Lopez, Elizabeth Robertson, Susan Weiss, Aria Crump, Augie Diana, Gayathri Dowling, Jennifer Elcano, Elizabeth Ginexi, Jacqueline Lloyd, Aleta Meyer, Moira O'Brien, Eve Reider, Belinda Sims, Anna Staton

NIDA Director's Award for EEO, Divsrsity and Quality of Worklife

NIDA IRP Morale Committee
Patty Ballerstadt, LT Tracey Coleman-Rawlinson, Janis Diven, Josephine Jones, Cathleen Lyons, Cassandra Matthews, Katrina Maynard, Rolanda Morris, Mary Pfeiffer, Rochelle Randolph, Mitchele Williams

NIDA Director's Innovator Award

Elena Koustova

30 Years of Government Service Awards
Garveyette Brown, Debra Grossman, Harriette Jordan, Steven Goldberg

40 Years of Government Service Award
Kenner Rice, Nancy Soulen

Staff Changes

Deputy Press Officer Stephanie Older has been promoted to Press Officer. Ms. Older has been an outstanding member of the NIDA press team for more than two years, contributing to multiple top level press initiatives. Her prior communications experience includes media work for both corporate and non-profit organizations, most notably as the media liaison for the National Breast Cancer Coalition. Ms. Older holds a law degree from the University of Baltimore as well as a B.A. in communication from the University of Pennsylvania. Prior to joining NIDA, she served as Attorney-Advisor to an Associate Chief Judge at the U.S. Department of Labor.


Research Findings

Program Activities

Extramural Policy and Review Activities

Congressional Affairs

International Activities

Meetings and Conferences

Media and Education Activities

Planned Meetings


Staff Highlights

Grantee Honors

Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. The U.S. government's official web portal