Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page

Home > Publications > Director's Reports    

Director's Report to the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse - September, 2002

Grantee Honors

Dr. Frank Ivy Carroll, director of Organic and Medicinal Chemistry at Research Triangle Institute in North Carolina, has received the American Chemical Society award in medicinal chemistry for 2002, in recognition of his contributions to synthetic medicinal chemistry, including the development of therapeutic agents for the treatment of cocaine addiction.

Dr. Shelly F. Greenfield, Director of Research Administration, Psychiatry Department, McLean Hospital, received several honors this past year. Dr. Greenfield was (a) elected to membership in the American College of Psychiatrists, (b) elected to Fellowship in the American Psychiatric Association, (c) appointed Vice Chair of the Council on Addictions of the American Psychiatric Association, (d) appointed Member of the American Psychiatric Association's Work Group for the Practice Guidelines for Substance Use Disorders, and (e) promoted from Deputy Editor to Co-Editor in Chief of the Harvard Review of Psychiatry.

Dr. Michael Hecht, Pennsylvania StateUniversity, received the 2001 Gerald R. Philips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship from the National Communication Association for his NIDA-funded Drug Resistance Strategies Project.

The Family Services Research Center under the direction of Dr. Scott Henggeler of the University of South Carolina Medical College received the 2001 Families Court Award, 2001 Exemplary Substance Abuse Prevention Program Award from the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and the Points of Light Foundation President's Award in recognition of excellence in community service directed at solving community problems.

Dr. Edward Kaplan, Yale University, was asked by the Fogarty International Center to apply the advanced mathematical modeling techniques (developed by Dr. Kaplan and his colleagues for analyzing the AIDS epidemic and related interventions), to evaluating response options for a possible smallpox attack against the U.S. This request was part of new Homeland Defense initiatives. NIDA funding supported the smallpox evaluation, which was published in the June 2002 Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Kaplan also appeared on the June 8th Today Show and was in the June 8th New York Times discussing his smallpox attack response assessment. The most significant finding of Dr. Kaplan's smallpox analysis was that mass vaccination outperforms the existing policy of starting with traced vaccination and switching to mass vaccination, only if required.

A paper published by Dr. Rae R. Matsumoto, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, in the journal Neuropharmacology (Involvement of sigma receptors in the behavioral effects of cocaine: evidence from novel ligands and antisense oligodeoxynucleotides - Neuropharmacology. 2002 Jun;42(8):1043-55) was highlighted by the journal's Editor-in-Chief as being of particular interest to the neuroscience community and selected for alert to the neuroscience community, through the journal publisher's online alerting service, Paper Reporter. Dr. Matsumoto is recipient of NIDA DA11979.

Dr. Cynthia L. Rowe, University of Miami School of Medicine, was honored by the College on Problems on Drug Dependence during the 2002 Annual Meeting in Quebec City, receiving an Early Career Investigator Award. After a NIDA-sponsored postdoctoral fellowship at the Center for Treatment Research on Adolescent Drug Abuse, Dr. Rowe was appointed Research Assistant Professor at the University of Miami, and continues her research on family interventions for adolescent drug abuse.

Dr. Jeffrey H. Samet, Associate Professor of Medicine and Public Health, Boston Medical Center, was promoted to Professor of Medicine and Social & Behavioral Sciences at Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health in 2002. He was also appointed Chief, Section of General Medicine, in the Department of Medicine at Boston University School of Medicine-Boston Medical Center in July 2002.

Dr. Linda Teplin, of Northwestern University, received the National Commission on Correctional Health Care, 2001 Bernard P. Harrison Award of Merit for her research focused on delinquent juveniles.


Research Findings

Program Activities

Extramural Policy and Review Activities

Congressional Affairs

International Activities

Meetings and Conferences

Media and Education Activities

Planned Meetings


Staff Highlights

Grantee Honors

Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. . The U.S. government's official web portal