Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page

Home > Publications > Director's Reports > May, 2005 Index    

Director's Report to the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse - May, 2005

Grantee Honors

Dr. James Alexander of the University of Utah received the 2004 American Psychological Association, Division 43 Distinguished Contribution to Family Psychology Award.

Dr. Richard Clayton, Senior Science Scholar at the University of Kentucky Center for Drug Abuse Research Translation received the 2005 Society for Prevention Research Presidential Award.

Dr. Hendree Jones, Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, has received the 2005 American Psychological Association (APA) Distinguished Scientific Award for Early Career Contribution to Psychology in the area of Applied Psychology.

Dr. Kevin LaBar of Duke University's Center for Cognitive Neuroscience received the Young Investigator Award at the annual meeting of the Cognitive Neuroscience Society held in New ork City on April 9-12, 2005.

Dr. Mary Jane Rotheram-Borus, University of California, Los Angeles, has received the following honors in 2005: 1) the International Collaborative Prevention Research Award, presented by the Society for Prevention Research for outstanding contributions to advancing the field of prevention science; 2) appointed Chair, Childhood Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences (Dena Bat-Yaacov Endowed Chair); and 3) is serving as Program Chair, Society for Prevention Research (SPR).

Dr. Shiela Strauss of the National Development Research Institute (NDRI) has been awarded a Fulbright Senior Specialist grant to present a series of workshops at Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Beersheva, Israel in May, 2005. She will discuss the findings of her NIDA-funded research concerning the US drug treatment system's response to hepatitis C, and explore the potential for future collaborative efforts to advance knowledge about and advocacy for HCV infected substance abusers in the Middle East.

On April 4, 2005, Dr. Helene White of Rutgers University received the Woman of Achievement Award from the New Jersey State Federation of Women's Clubs of GFWC.


Research Findings

Program Activities

Extramural Policy and Review Activities

Congressional Affairs

International Activities

Meetings and Conferences

Media and Education Activities

Planned Meetings


Staff Highlights

Grantee Honors

In Memoriam

Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. . The U.S. government's official web portal