Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page

Home > Publications > Director's Reports > February, 2005 Index    

Director's Report to the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse - February, 2005

Grantee Honors

The 2004 Purdue Pharma Prize For Pain Research was awarded to NIDA Merit grantee, Professor Gerald Gebhart, University of Iowa. This prestigious award is given for excellence in pain research and for outstanding contributions being made to the pain field.

Dr. Antonello Bonci received the Jacob P. Waletzky Memorial Award for Innovative Research in Drug Addiction and Alcoholism at the Society for Neuroscience annual meeting in October, 2004. This prize is awarded each year to a scientist who has received an advanced degree of either PhD or MD within the past 15 years, and who has done notable research in the area of substance abuse and the brain and nervous system.

Mary Ann Pentz, Ph.D. of the University of Southern California Institute for Prevention Research has been asked to participate in a research study on the careers of Top NIH grantees.

The 2005 Edition of Who's Who in America lists Dr. Phyllis L. Ellickson as a political scientist who has made contributions to professional journals, holds membership on various advisory boards (e.g., The BEST Foundation, Monitoring the Future, Partnership for a Drug Free America, etc.) and has served on expert scientific panels (e.g., Dept of Education).

Drs. Sheppard Kellam, C. Hendricks Brown and John Reid were inducted as Fellows into the Academy of Experimental Criminology at the Academy's annual meeting in October 2004.

Jane Dimmitt Champion became Co-Director of the Community Outreach Core, at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center-San Antonio's National Center of Excellence in Women's Health. That Center is one of the National Centers supported by the Department of Health and Human Services.

JoAnne Keatley, MSW, University of California, San Francisco Center for AIDS Prevention Studies received a Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition (in recognition of outstanding and invaluable service to the community) from Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi, U.S. House of Representatives and a Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition (in honor of work for the LGBT immigrant community) from Congresswoman Barbara Lee, U.S. House of Representatives.

NIDA grantee Samuel Friedman, Ph.D., was selected by the faculty in the Department of Epidemiology at the University of Michigan to deliver the 42nd Annual Don W. Gudakunst Memorial Lecture during the current academic year. This lecture series was established to honor Dr. Gudakunst, who directed the National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis until his untimely death in 1946. It also serves to single out a distinguished contributor to the study of infectious disease. Previous Gudakunst lecturers have included Albert Sabin, Jonas Salk, Thomas Francis, Alexander Langmuir, William Foege, and Richard Kaslow.

NIDA grantee, Edward H. Kaplan, the William N. and Marie A. Beach Professor of Management Sciences at the Yale School of Management, and Professor of Public Health at the Yale School of Medicine, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health (October 18, 2004). Professor Kaplan is one of 65 new members and five foreign associates announced by the Institute of Medicine (IOM). Kaplan, who is only the second professor from the Yale School of Management to be elected to the Institute of Medicine, is an operations research and statistics expert who studies problems in public policy and management. In addition to the Institute of Medicine, Kaplan is an elected (2003) member of another arm of the National Academies, the National Academy of Engineering. He is one of only 27 people to be an elected member of both and the principal basis for his election to the two academies has been his NIDA-supported research using advanced mathematics to model the AIDS and drug abuse epidemics and assess the public health impact and cost effectiveness of interventions in those epidemics.

Marc Galanter, M.D., (Co-PI New York Node) has been named the recipient of the 2004 Founders' Award from the American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry. This award is presented annually in recognition of a physician's major contribution to addiction treatment, training, and research.

Three CTN Community Treatment Providers (CTPs) have been awarded grants from the Robert Wood Johnson Paths to Recovery Program: Signal and Island Grove Regional Treatment Center (Rocky Mountain Node); and Connecticut Renaissance (New England Node).


Research Findings

Program Activities

Extramural Policy and Review Activities

Congressional Affairs

International Activities

Meetings and Conferences

Media and Education Activities

Planned Meetings


Staff Highlights

Grantee Honors

In Memoriam

Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. . The U.S. government's official web portal