Skip Navigation

Link to  the National Institutes of Health  
The Science of Drug Abuse and Addiction from the National Institute on Drug Abuse Archives of the National Institute on Drug Abuse web site
Go to the Home page
   

Home > Past Science Meetings > Reducing HIV and Criminal Justice Involvement in African Americans as a Consequence of Drug Use    

Reducing HIV and Criminal Justice Involvement in African Americans as a Consequence of Drug Use



Participants List

Presenters

Steven Belenko, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Treatment Research Institute

600 Public Ledger Building
150 South Independence Mall West
Philadelphia, PA 19406-3475
Telephone: 215-399-0980, ext. 119
Fax: 215-399-0987
sbelenko@tresearch.org
Faye Belgrave, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
Virginia Commonwealth University

808 West Franklin Street
P.O. Box 842018
Richmond, VA 23284
Telephone: 804-225-4415
Fax: 804-828-2237
fzbelgra@vcu.edu
Kim Blankenship, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Center for Interdisciplinary Research on AIDS
Yale University

40 Temple Street, Suite 1B
New Haven, CT 06510
Telephone: 203-764-4343
Fax: 203-764-4353
kim.blankenship@yale.edu
Ronald Braithwaite, Ph.D.
Department of Behavioral Sciences and Health Education
Rollins School of Public Health
Emory University

1518 Clifton Road, NE
Grace Crum Rollins Building
Atlanta, GA 30322
Telephone: 404-727-8093
Fax: 404-727-3333
rbraith@sph.emory.edu
Lawrence Brown, M.D.
Senior Vice President
Addiction Research and Treatment Corporation

22 Chapel Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Telephone: 718-260-2917
Fax: 718-522-3186
lbrown@artcny.org
Victoria Cargill, M.D.
Director of Minority Research,
Director of Clinical Studies
Office of AIDS Research
National Institutes of Health

Two Center Drive, MSC 0255
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-402-2932
CargillV@mail.nih.gov
Judge Karen Freeman-Wilson, RET.
CEO
National Association of Drug Court Professionals

4900 Seminary Road, Suite 320
Alexandria, VA 22311
Telephone: 703-575-9400, ext. 12
Fax: 703-575-9402
kfwilson@nadcp.org
Robert E. Fullilove, Ed.D.
Professor and Associate Dean
Columbia University

722 W 168th Street
New York, NY 10032-4207
Telephone: 212-740-7292
Fax: 212-795-4222
ref5@columbia.edu
James Griffin, Jr., Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
344C, National Center for Primary Care
Morehouse School of Medicine

720 Westview Drive, SW
Atlanta, GA 30310-1495
Telephone: 404-752-1905
Fax: 404-752-1051
griffij@msm.edu
Martin Iguchi, Ph.D.
Director, Drug Policy Research Center
Rand Corporation

1700 Main Street
Santa Monica, CA 90407-2138
Telephone: 310-393-0411, ext. 7816
Fax: 310-451-7004
iguchi@rand.org
Kevin Knight, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Texas Christian University

5908 Wimbleton Way
Fort Worth, TX 76133
Telephone: 817-257-6472
Fax: 817-257-7290
k.knight@tcu.edu
Douglas Longshore, Ph.D.
Associate Director
UCLA Integrated Substance Abuse Programs
Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research

1640 S. Sepulveda Boulevard, Suite 200
Los Angeles, CA 90025
Telephone: 310-445-0874, ext. 231
Fax: 310-473-7885
E-mail: dlongsho@ucla.edu
Vickie Mays, Ph.D., MSPH
Professor of Psychology and Health Services
University of California Los Angeles
Institute for Social Science Research

Box 951484, 4250 PPB
Los Angeles, CA 90095-484
Telephone: 310-206-5159
Fax: 310-206-5895
mays@ucla.edu
George W. Roberts, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Prevention Partnerships
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

1600 Clifton Road NE
Atlanta, GA 30333
Telephone: 404-639-5200
Fax: 404-639-5260
GRoberts@cdc.gov
Pamela Rodriguez
Executive Vice President
TASC, Inc.

1500 North Halsted
Chicago, IL 60622
Telephone: 312-573-8238
Fax: 312-787-8214
prodriguez@tasc-il.org
Claire Sterk, Ph.D.
Candler Professor and Chair
Associate Dean for Research
Department of Behavioral Sciences and Health Education
Rollins School of Public Health
Emory University

1518 Clifton Road, NE, Room 520
Atlanta, GA 30322
Telephone: 404-727-9124
Fax: 404-727-1369
csterk@sph.emory.edu
Carolyn A. Stroman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Communication and Culture
Howard University

525 Bryant Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Telephone: 202-806-4057
Fax: 202-232-8305
cstroman@howard.edu
Faye Taxman, Ph.D.
Professor
Virginia Commonwealth University

4511 Knox Road, Suite 301
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: 301-403-8130
Fax: 301-403-4404
ftaxman@bgr.umd.edu
David Vlahov, Ph.D.
Center for Urban Epidemiologic Studies
New York Academy of Medicine

1216 Fifth Avenue, Room 566
New York, NY 10029
Telephone: 212-822-7383
Fax: 212-876-6220
dvlahov@nyam.org
Wendee Wechsberg, Ph.D.
Senior Program Director
Substance Abuse Treatment Evaluations and Interventions
Center for Interdisciplinary Substance Abuse Research
Research Triangle Institute (RTI) International

P.O. Box 12194
Research Triangle Park, NC 27615-2194
Telephone: 919-541-6422
Fax: 919-485-5555
wmw@rti.org
Gail Wyatt, Ph.D.
Professor
Neuropsychiatric Institute
University of California - Los Angeles

760 Westwood Plaza
Los Angeles, CA 90024-5055
Telephone: 310-825-0193
Fax: 310-206-9137
gwyatt@mednet.ucla.edu


Guests

Kathy Burlew, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology
Co-chair, Minority Interest Group of the NIDA CTN
Department of Psychology, ML #0376
University of Cincinnati

Cincinnati, OH, 45221
Telephone: 513-475-5341
Fax: 513-556-1904
rkburlew@juno.com
Robert Dunigan, Ph.D.
Brandeis
Four Boulevard Terrace
Allston, MA 02134
Telephone: (618) 232-8401
Robert.Dunigan@BC.edu
Stephen Carrington, M.A.
Project Officer
Substance Abuse Mental Health Service Administration

One Choke Cherry Road
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: (240) 276-1611
Fax: (240) 276-2970
Stephen.Carrington@SAMHSA.hhs.gov
Thomas E. Feucht, Ph.D.
Acting Assistant Director
National Institute of Justice

810 7th Street NW
Washington DC 20531
Telephone: 202-307-2949
Fax: 202-353-5243
thomas.feucht@usdoj.gov
Cherry Gallagher, M.A.
Public Health Advisor
SAMHSA/CSAT

One Choke Cherry Road
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: (240) 276-1615
Fax: (240) 276-2970
cheryl.gallagher@samhsa.hhs.gov
Nicole Jarrett, Ph.D.
Post Doctorate
Center for Mental Health Services and Criminal Justice Research

30 College Avenue
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
njarrett@ifh.rutgers.edu
Francis Johnson, MSW
Team Leader
SAMHSA/CSAT

Rockwall II
Rockville, MD 20852
Telephone: (240) 276-2484
Francis.Johnson@samhsa.hhs.gov
Stella Jones, MSW
Senior Program Management Officer
SAMHSA/CSAT

One Choke Cherry Road
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: (240) 276-1618
sjones@samhsa.gov
Richard Millstein, J.D.
Senior Advisor to the Dean
Catholic University of America
National Catholic School of Social Service

Shahan Hall
Washington, D.C. 20064
Telephone: 202-319-4384
Fax: 202-319-5093
millstein@cua.edu
Susanne Rohrer, RN
SAMHSA/CSAT
One Choke Cherry Road
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: (240) 276-1609
susanne.rohrer@samhsa.hhs.gov
Kyla Sawyer, Ph.D.
NIDA Post Doctorate Scholar
Research Triangle Institute

5719 Arringdon Park Drive, #738
Morrisville, NC 27560
KMS@rti.org
David C. Thompson
HIV/AIDS Team Leader/Public Health Advisor
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 5-1007
Rockville, MD 20857
Telephone: 240-276-1623
Fax: 240-276-2970
E-mail: david.thompson@samhsa.hhs.gov


African American Initiative Committee Members

Lula Beatty, Ph.D.
Chief, Special Populations Office
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health, DHHS

6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 4216
MSC 9567
Bethesda, MD 20892-9567
Telephone: 310-443-0441
Fax: 301-480-8179
lb75x@nih.gov
Jean Lud Cadet, M.D.
Chief, Molecular Neuropsychiatry Branch
National Institute on Drug Abuse/IRP

5500 Nathan Shock Drive, Room 301
Baltimore, MD 21224
Telephone: 410-550-2732
Fax: 410-550-2732
jcadet@intra.nida.nih.gov
Redonna K. Chandler, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Services Research Branch
Division of Epidemiology Services and Prevention Research
National Institute on Drug Abuse

6001 Executive Blvd., Room 4222
MSC 9565
Bethesda, MD 20892-9565
Telephone: 301-443-8768
Fax: 301-443-6815
rchandle@nida.nih.gov
Gayathri J. Dowling, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Science Policy Branch
Office of Science Policy and Communications
National Institute on Drug Abuse

6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5241
MSC 9591
Bethesda, MD 20892-9591
Telephone: 301-594-6304
Fax: 301-480-2485
dowlingg@mail.nih.gov
Dionne Jones, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Health Scientist Administrator
Medical Consequences Unit
Center on AIDS and other Medical Consequences of Drug Abuse
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health, DHHS

6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5198
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-402-1984
Fax: 301-480-4544
dj99r@nih.gov
Arnold Mills, M.S.W.
Health Scientist Administrator
Epidemiology Research Branch
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health

6001 Executive Boulevard
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-402-1935
am88k@nih.gov
Arnaldo Quiñones, M.D.
Medical Officer
Center for Clinical Trials Network
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health

6001 Executive Boulevard
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-443-6697
aquinones@nida.nih.gov
Carmen Rosa, M.S. RAC
Regulatory Affairs Officer
Center for Clinical Trials Network
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health

Room 4245, MSC 9551
6001 Executive Boulevard
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-443-9830
crosa@nida.nih.gov
Paul Schnur, Ph.D.
Acting Deputy Director
Division of Basic Neuroscience and Behavioral Research
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health

Room 4245, MSC 9551
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 4273
Bethesda, MD 20892-9555
Telephone: 301-435-1316
Fax: 301-594-6043
pschnur@mail.nih.gov
Donald R. Vereen, Jr., M.D., M.P.H.
Special Assistant to the Director
Office of the Director
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health
Room 4245, MSC 9551
6001 Executive Boulevard, Suite 5274
MSC 9501
Bethesda, MD 20892-0001
Telephone: 301-443-6480
Fax: 301-443-9127
dvereen@mail.nih.gov


NIDA Staff

Nora Volkow, M.D.
Director
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health, DHHS

6001 Executive Boulevard, Suite 5274
MSC 9581
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 310-443-6480
Fax: 301-443-9127
nvolkow@nida.nih.gov
Aria Crump, Sc.D.
HSA
National Institute on Drug Abuse

6001 Executive Boulevard
NSC Building, Room 5153
Telephone: 301-435-0881
adcrump@nida.nih.gov
LeKhessa Doctor, M.S.
Contractor, Program Manager
Special Populations Office
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health, DHHS

6001 Executive Blvd., Room 4216
MSC 9567
Bethesda, MD 20892-9567
Telephone: 301-594-4843
Fax: 301-480-8179
ldoctor@nida.nih.gov
Bennett Fletcher, Ph.D.
Senior Research Psychologist
Services Research Branch
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health, DHHS

6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 4222
MSC 9565
Bethesda, MD 20892-9565
Telephone: 301-402-2159
bfletche@nida.nih.gov
Pamela Goodlow
Public Health Analyst
Special Populations Office
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health, DHHS

6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 4216
MSC 9567
Bethesda, MD 20892-9567
Telephone: 301-443-0441
Fax: 301-480-8179
pg46n@nih.gov
Tom Hilton, Ph.D.
Project Officer
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health

6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 4272
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-435-0808
Tom.Hilton@nih.gov
Elizabeth Lambert, M.Sc.
Health Scientist Administrator
Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research (DESPR)
Epidemiology Research Branch (ERB)
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health

6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5153
MSC 9589
Bethesda, MD 20892-9589
Telephone: 301-402-1933
Fax: 301-443-2636
el46i@nih.gov
Geoffrey Laredo
Office of Science Policy and Communications
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health, DHHS

6001 Executive Boulevard
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-443-6036
Fax: 301-443-6277
glaredo@nida.nih.gov
Gloria Lester
Planning and Financial Management Branch
Office of Planning and Resource Management
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health

Room 4245, MSC 9551
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5108
MSC 9583
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-443-6627
Fax: 301-443-7966
glester1@nida.nih.gov
Jack Stein, Ph.D.
Acting Deputy Director
Division of Epidemiology, Prevention, and Services Research
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health
6001 Executive Boulevard
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-443-6036
jstein1@nida.nih.gov
Yonette F. Thomas, Ph.D.
Chief, Epidemiology Research Branch
Division of Epidemiology, Prevention, and Services Research
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Institutes of Health, DHHS

6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5169
MSC 9589
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-402-1910
Fax: 301-443-2636
ythomas@mail.nih.gov
Natascha Wilson, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
Intramural Research Program (IRP)
National Institute on Drug Abuse
5500 Nathan Shock Drive
Baltimore, MD 21224
Telephone: 410-550-1765
wilsonna@intra.nida.nih.gov



Archive Home | Accessibility | Privacy | FOIA (NIH) | Current NIDA Home Page
National Institutes of Health logo_Department of Health and Human Services Logo The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Questions? See our Contact Information. . The U.S. government's official web portal